June Adventures

Adventures during the month of June!

June is a great time of year, the beginning of summer. the weather is warm, the plants are thriving, and everything feels fresh. This June was super busy, so I’m just going to throw all the adventures together into one post. Enjoy!

JuneAdventures1-1

Vedauwoo

At the end of May, I had finished my ‘Adventuremobile’ with help from Kadi, and we were excited to adventure in it! Basically it was a sleeping platform in the back of my pickup with storage underneath, made of 1/4″ plywood and 1x12s. So our first camping trip with it was up to the giant boulder-field that is Vedauwoo in Wyoming!

JuneAdventures-3

It took some getting used to the short ceiling, but it is so nice to be able to park anywhere and camp there! No need to find a spot to setup a tent, or find a place that doesn’t have any rocks (especially in this localle). It let us spend time just exploring!

JuneAdventures-4

JuneAdventures-5

JuneAdventures-1

JuneAdventures-2

RMNP

So I don’t actually remember if this was before or after Vedauwoo, but I’ll just throw it in here! I had a quick jaunt up to Rocky Mountain National Park one weekend just to relax and take some product photos for a friend, who gifted me the hammock if I took some pictures for him. Just a couple pictures in this set, but The Loch is one of my favorite places in the park!

JuneAdventures2-1

(I don’t actually know who that is)

JuneAdventures2-2

Rifle Falls State Park

The next adventure was going to Rifle Falls State Park, West of all the ski areas, and just north of Rifle, CO. I had heard good things about it, but we were leaving pretty late after work on a Friday, and I was worried about finding camping around the area.

JuneAdventures-7

Luckily, I have a pickup that can camp anywhere! So we pulled off the side of the road on some BLM land North of Vail to camp there, and enjoy the newly emerging Milky Way!

JuneAdventures-10

The next day we made it to the falls, and they were much larger and cooler than I was expecting! There are 3 different main falls in the area, with a few smaller ones around the peripheral.

JuneAdventures-9

One thing that we weren’t expecting was all the caves behind the falls! You could hike along the cliff for probably a half mile or so, and all along there were caves of various sizes that could be explored!

JuneAdventures3-1

There was only one that went deep enough that it was pitch-black, but there were several others that you had to crawl through or duck into!

JuneAdventures-11

JuneAdventures-12

While we were there, we went down the canyon to the Rifle Mountain Park, a Mecca for climbers. There are just sheer cliffs on all sides in the canyon, which lends quite well to people who like to climb sheer cliffs. It was really fun to watch all the climbers doing their thing as we hiked along the cliff base for a bit.

JuneAdventures-13

JuneAdventures-14

With that, we headed back home to have some time with some family in town. Thanks for reading, let me know what your favorite picture was!

 

–Cameron

 

Author: cameronfedde

I'm a tinkerer, photographer, engineer, drone enthusiast, Coloradoan, and many other things.

Leave a comment